Our expertise in the Consumer Healthcare market – innovative impulses for your sustainable growth.

Consumer Healthcare (OTC) is a dynamic industry that combines the characteristics of both Rx Pharma and the consumer goods field. The OTC market is characterized by global players and medium-sized companies that specialize in pharmaceuticals and healthcare products, i.e. food supplements, foods for special medical purposes, medical devices and cosmetics – mostly distributed via pharmacies, mail-order firms, medical retailers, health-food stores and/or drugstores.

Drastic market developments are presenting consumer healthcare companies with ever greater challenges. Among others, these include:

  • increasing price and competitive pressure with growing market transparency
  • increasing digitization along the entire value chain
  • new, digitally influenced competitors with innovative business and revenue models
  • shifts in the relevance of doctors, pharmacists, sales agents and consumers
  • changed consumer behavior from information to purchase (“customer journey”)
  • consolidation and integration tendencies at all levels of value creation
  • market entry of new e-commerce platforms

In order to meet these challenges adequately, OTC companies must understand the mechanisms of their markets as well as the individual requirements of doctors, pharmacists, sales agents and consumers holistically. Strategies, organizational structures, product and solution offers, as well as marketing approaches must be consistently evaluated and optimized according to the stakeholders’ needs. Previously untapped potential in market development must be leveraged, to operate more successfully in the future.

Our Consumer Healthcare team has extensive experience from more than 100 OTC projects. We advise at eye level and develop sustainable, innovative strategies for our clients. We work for corporations as well as for medium-sized companies. With our many years of experience, our extensive methodological knowledge and our tools, we set goal-oriented and creative impulses for growth.

Our Consumer Healthcare experts

Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Managing Director & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0

Unsere Expertise im Consumer Healthcare Markt innovative Impulse für Ihr nachhaltiges Wachstum.

Consumer Healthcare (OTC) ist eine dynamische Branche, die sowohl Charakteristiken aus Rx Pharma als auch aus dem Konsumgüterbereich vereint. Der OTC-Markt ist geprägt von globalen Akteuren sowie mittelständischen Unternehmen mit einer Spezialisierung auf Arzneimittel und Gesundheitsprodukte, d. h. Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Lebensmittel für besondere medizinische Zwecke, Medizinprodukte und Kosmetika – meist mit Distribution über Apotheken, Versandhändler, Sanitätsfachhändler, Reformhäuser und/oder Drogeriemärkte.

Einschneidende Marktentwicklungen stellen Consumer Healthcare Unternehmen vor immer größere Herausforderungen. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • steigender Preis- und Wettbewerbsdruck bei wachsender Markttransparenz
  • zunehmende Digitalisierung über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette
  • neue, digital geprägte Wettbewerber mit innovativen Geschäfts- und Erlösmodellen
  • Verschiebungen der Relevanz von Arzt, Apotheker, Absatzmittler und Konsument
  • verändertes Konsumentenverhalten von Information bis Kauf („Customer Journey“)
  • Konsolidierungs- und Integrationstendenzen auf allen Stufen der Wertschöpfung
  • Markteintritte neuer E-Commerce-Plattformen

Um diesen Herausforderungen adäquat begegnen zu können, müssen OTC-Unternehmen die Mechanismen ihrer Märkte sowie die individuellen Anforderungen von Ärzten, Apothekern, Absatzmittlern und Konsumenten ganzheitlich verstehen. Strategien, Organisationsstrukturen, Produkt- und Lösungsangebote sowie Vermarktungsansätze müssen konsequent evaluiert und entlang der Bedürfnisse der Anspruchsgruppen optimiert werden. Bisher ungenutzte Potenziale in der Marktbearbeitung müssen gehoben werden, um zukünftig erfolgreicher zu agieren.

Unser auf Consumer Healthcare spezialisiertes Team hat tiefgreifende Erfahrung aus über 100 OTC-Projekten. Wir beraten auf Augenhöhe und entwickeln nachhaltig innovative Strategien für unsere Kunden. Dabei arbeiten wir sowohl für Konzerne als auch für mittelständische Unternehmen. Mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung, unserem umfangreichen Methodenwissen und unseren Tools setzen wir zielgerichtete und kreative Wachstumsimpulse.

Unsere Experten für Consumer Healthcare

Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Dr. Michael Scholl
Geschäftsführer & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0