Pricing Excellence

Growth through pricing – the power tool of marketing.

Pricing represents the greatest lever for corporate success. We support Consumer Healthcare companies holistically in the development and optimization of price and condition strategies as well as in the concept design and application of intelligent methods for pricing. With the definition of processes, instruments and organizational structures, we support you in the sustainable professionalization of price and condition management, from the price strategy and formation to the price implementation and monitoring. We would be glad to work for you in the following areas, among others:

  • Professionalization of price management
  • Definition of effective pricing strategies
  • Price benchmarking
  • Pricing for new preparations
  • Price optimization for established preparations
  • International pricing (cross-border)
  • Development and optimization of condition systems

The following project examples show our approach in practice:

  • Consumer and specialist group-oriented pricing for three new OTC preparations in three international markets with a potential of > EUR 50 million
  • Stopped the price decline (approx. 2% p.a.) for a leading company in the field of wound care through the Pricing Excellence Initiative
  • Optimized price/performance positioning and new pricing model for an OTC service provider with growth potential of approx. +200%

Pricing Excellence – our expertise

Pricing Excellence Consulting

Price strategy.

The dovetailing of corporate strategy and pricing strategy poses challenges for many OTC companies. The required consistency with the portfolio and sales strategy is also often insufficient in that context. This is particularly noticeable in the fact that there is often no clearly defined and communicated target value for sales work at the country and product level. Even the desired price positioning in the market environment is often not sufficiently defined in the price strategy.

Price architecture.

Price architecture determines how prices are formed domestically and internationally. In that context, the single elements and stages in the pricing process are defined. A global reference price can be just as much an element as a regional or country-specific reference price. Whether a gross or net price approach should be pursued must be decided. In addition, the influence of the transfer price on local price formation must be clarified in the context of transfer pricing.

Pricing.

Determining the appropriate pricing method at the product level is very important in the area of OTC pharmaceuticals. The combination of different methods is often the path to success. For example, with “Value Based Pricing”, Consumer Healthcare companies are able to ideally make use of the end customer’s willingness to pay. With market-oriented pricing, i.e. in line with the competitive environment, manufacturers optimize their sales and market share.

Price organization and price processes.

Professional price management is a complex task, which should be equipped with sufficient capacity and dedicated competence. The functional and organizational anchoring of price management in the corporate structure is therefore a relevant success factor. The structuring of necessary pricing tasks and processes at the headquarters as well as in the national companies plays an important role in this context. Depending on the maturity level of the organization, we develop efficient organizational structures and processes for you in order to meet the requirements of recurring pricing processes. In doing so, we ensure that the necessary instruments for excellent price management are implemented.

Price enforcement.

Consumer Healthcare companies often do not have the necessary experience to develop economically meaningful condition systems while considering their sales structures, and thus often favor large differences between the required gross prices and the net prices ultimately enforced. We will support you in establishing your conditions by using performance-related factors, by providing room to make decisions and escalation processes as well as competence documents for sales and field staff such as negotiation guidelines.

Price controlling.

There are few topics that allow for such a direct measurement of success as pricing. We will support you in implementing suitable structures, processes and instruments to monitor and optimize your pricing. Our proven pricing software solutions and pricing tools enable recurring price analyses across all relevant dimensions of the business model as well as the transparent simulation of price adjustments to key performance indicators.

Do you have questions or would you like to discuss the topic? Then do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Healthcare experts.

Our Consumer Healthcare experts

Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Managing Director & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0

Wort "Consumer Healthcare" umgeben von Symbolen - Laptop mit Einkaufswagen, Tabletten, Pflaster, Reagenzglas
Pricing Excellence

Wachstum durch Pricing – das Power-Tool der Vermarktung.

Pricing stellt den größten Hebel für den Unternehmenserfolg dar. Wir unterstützen Consumer Healthcare Unternehmen ganzheitlich bei der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Preis- und Konditionenstrategien sowie bei der Konzeption und Anwendung intelligenter Methoden für die Preisbildung. Mit der Definition von Prozessen, Instrumenten und Organisationsstrukturen unterstützen wir Sie bei der nachhaltigen Professionalisierung des Preis- und Konditionenmanagements von der Preisstrategie über die Preisbildung bis hin zur Preisimplementierung und zum Preismonitoring. Dabei werden wir unter anderem in den folgenden Bereichen für Sie tätig:

  • Professionalisierung des Preismanagements
  • Definition wirkungsvoller Preisstrategien
  • Preis-Benchmarking
  • Preisfindung für neue Präparate
  • Preisoptimierung für etablierte Präparate
  • Internationales Pricing (cross-border)
  • Aufbau bzw. Optimierung von Konditionensystemen

Die folgenden Projektbeispiele zeigen unseren Ansatz in der Praxis:

  • Konsumenten- und fachgruppenorientierte Preisfindung für drei neue OTC-Präparate in drei internationalen Märkten mit einem Potenzial > 50 Mio. EUR
  • Stopp des Preisverfalls (ca. 2 % p. a.) für ein führendes Unternehmen im Bereich der Wundversorgung mittels Pricing-Excellence-Initiative
  • Optimierte Preis-Leistungs-Positionierung und neues Preismodell für ein OTC-Dienstleistungsunternehmen mit einem Wachstumspotenzial von ca. +200 %

Pricing Excellence – Unsere Expertise

Schema des Pricing Excellence-Frameworks und seinen Teilelementen

Preisstrategie.

Die Verzahnung von Unternehmensstrategie und Preisstrategie stellt viele OTC-Unternehmen vor Herausforderungen. Dabei ist auch die erforderliche Konsistenz mit der Portfolio- und der Vertriebsstrategie oft nicht ausreichend gegeben. Das ist insbesondere daran bemerkbar, dass es oft keine klar definierte und kommunizierte Zielgröße auf der Landes- und Produktebene für die Vertriebsarbeit gibt. Auch die angestrebte Preispositionierung im Marktumfeld ist in der Preisstrategie häufig nicht hinreichend definiert.

Preisarchitektur.

Die Preisarchitektur legt fest, wie Preise international und national gebildet werden. Dabei werden die einzelnen Elemente und Stufen im Preisbildungsprozess definiert. Ein globaler Referenzpreis kann dabei ebenso ein Element sein wie ein regionaler oder landesspezifischer Referenzpreis. Es muss entschieden werden, ob ein Brutto- oder Nettopreisansatz verfolgt werden soll. Außerdem muss im Rahmen des Transferpricings der Einfluss des Transferpreises auf die lokale Preisbildung geklärt werden.

Preisbildung.

Die Bestimmung der geeigneten Preisbildungsmethode auf der Produktebene hat im Bereich von OTC-Arzneimitteln eine große Bedeutung. Die Kombination unterschiedlicher Methoden ist hier häufig der Weg zum Erfolg. Beispielsweise gelingt Consumer Healthcare Unternehmen mit „Value Based Pricing“ eine ideale Abschöpfung der Zahlungsbereitschaft der Endkunden. Mit marktorientiertem Pricing, d. h. in Anlehnung an das Wettbewerbsumfeld, optimieren Hersteller ihren Absatz und Marktanteil.

Preisorganisation und Preisprozesse.

Professionelles Preismanagement ist eine vielschichtige Aufgabe, die mit ausreichend Kapazität und dedizierter Kompetenz ausgestattet sein sollte. Die funktionale und organisatorische Verankerung des Preismanagements in der Unternehmensstruktur ist daher ein relevanter Erfolgsfaktor. Der Ausgestaltung notwendiger Pricing-Aufgaben und -Prozesse im Headquarter ebenso wie in den Landesgesellschaften kommt dabei eine wesentliche Rolle zu. Je nach Reifegrad der Organisation erarbeiten wir für Sie effiziente Organisationsstrukturen und Abläufe, um den Anforderungen wiederkehrender Preisprozesse gerecht zu werden. Dabei stellen wir sicher, dass die notwendigen Instrumente für exzellentes Preismanagement implementiert und umgesetzt werden.

Preisdurchsetzung.

Oftmals verfügen Consumer Healthcare Unternehmen nicht über die nötigen Erfahrungswerte, um ökonomisch sinnvolle Konditionensysteme unter Berücksichtigung ihrer Vertriebsstrukturen zu entwickeln, und begünstigen damit oft große Differenzen zwischen den geforderten Bruttopreisen und den letztlich durchgesetzten Netto-Netto-Preisen. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Fundierung Ihrer Konditionen durch leistungsbezogene Faktoren, indem sowohl Entscheidungsspielräume und Eskalationsprozesse als auch Kompetenzunterlagen für Vertriebs-/Außendienstmitarbeiter wie beispielsweise Verhandlungsleitfäden bereitgestellt werden.

Preiscontrolling.

Es gibt wenige Themen, die eine so unmittelbare Erfolgsmessung zulassen wie das Pricing. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Implementierung geeigneter Strukturen, Prozesse und Instrumente zur Überwachung und Optimierung Ihres Pricings. Unsere bewährten Pricing-Software-Lösungen und Pricing-Tools ermöglichen wiederkehrende Preisanalysen über alle relevanten Dimensionen des Geschäftsmodells sowie die transparente Simulation von Preisanpassungen auf die wesentlichen Erfolgskennzahlen.

Haben Sie Fragen oder wünschen Sie eine Diskussion zum Thema? Dann kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere Consumer Healthcare Experten.

Unsere Experten für Consumer Healthcare

Porträtbild unseres Partners Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Porträtbild von Michael Scholl
Geschäftsführer & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0