Nach oben zeigende blaue Pfeile vor dunkelblauem Hintergrund

Digital go-to-market a challenge of its own

The development phase is an important step for the success of innovative products. Yet it is only the first of many. Profitable placement in the target markets is an equally important task – both regarding digital and non-digital products. Digital products face another challenge: Many companies have no systematic or standardized go-to-market approach for these. And yet precisely such an approach is becoming increasingly important: Digital business models are becoming more complex from every day. Those who reinvent the wheel for every market launch fall behind the competition and quickly become outpaced in digital markets.

To prevent this scenario, an international IVD company secured the support of Homburg & Partner. The client had already witnessed some economies of scale in the development of digital products. However, the launch into respective target markets was always as difficult as the first time. Hence the project’s objective was to design a systematic go-to-market approach for digital products. In the future, it was to be embedded in the company worldwide in order to reduce the workload and increase the success of market launches.

Three key results of the digital marketing excellence project described here

Ten steps to a successful go-to-market for digital solutions

Hover the mouse over icons on the interactive roadmap to view guiding questions and possible solutions for the individual steps
Objectives Insight Gaining Customer Segment Buying Process Payment Method Payment Model Value Assessment Channels Market Model Launch Plan
Porträt Karl-Hubertus Gruber
Karl-Hubertus Gruber, Partner Medical Technology:

“The digital healthcare market is currently characterized by many new product launches. What nearly all share in common is that a systematic, globally defined and locally adaptable go-to-market approach is missing. It offers added value to every digital health solution. The ideal solution is a combination of globally uniform guidelines that are adapted to the situation and above all to the market.”

Porträt Dr. Jannick Theobald
Dr. Jannick Theobald, Consultant:

“As is the case with all modern therapies, refunding costs is of crucial importance for a comprehensive establishment of digital healthcare products. The success of the new introduction depends on the additional benefit for the end user or the incentives for the cost unit. By pursuing a structured go-to-market approach for digital healthcare products, the correct users can be identified, value stories can be formulated and price points set. This way, innovative products can be successfully launched both regionally and globally.”

Phase 1: Set Objectives

Go-to-market Stufe 1 - Objectives

At the project start, there was a digital idea that was meant to increase the reliability of diagnoses along existing medical decision-making paths. However, the question as to which goal our client wanted to pursue with the solution was not answered at the time. Our client often provided earlier digital solutions as additional services at no extra charge in order to promote non-digital products to their customers. In the course of a joint workshop with Homburg & Partner, it was determined that the new digital solution should also generate additional revenue itself. The aim was to set an anchor point in the market and to gather knowledge from the commercialization process for future market launches.

Phase 2: Insight Gaining

Go-to-market Phase 2 - Insight Gaining

Next, in a first step, the market was profiled along the 4C framework to determine the solution’s medical added value. The idea was to also include prevalence, epidemiology and current treatment methods. An analysis of the competitive landscape followed and the added value of the digital solution was evaluated using various treatment scenarios. This was done by means of a primary market assessment study using primary and secondary sources.

Phase 3: Stakeholder Assessment

Go-to-market Phase 3-1 - Insight Gaining
Go-to-market Phase 3-2 - Customer Segment

In a further step, the client’s perspective was included. To this end, an evaluation of potential customer groups and their individual needs was carried out. This also included evaluating the attractiveness of the digital solution for individual customer groups. To do so, the strength of demand per customer group, implementation effort for our client and implementation effort for the end customer were assessed. An additional focus was on understanding the individual steps of the purchasing process of digital solutions for customers and stakeholders involved.

Phase 4: Commercial Model

Go-to-market Phase 4-1 - Buying Process
Go-to-market Phase 4-2 - Payment Model

One of the biggest challenges when designing a go-to-market strategy is to identify optimal monetization and payment models. To overcome this challenge, the results from the previous project steps were key: Since a clearly defined digital solution with an area of application, customer group, medically added value and value story existed, several compatible scenarios for monetization were quickly found. Our client planned to use the digital solution to generate additional sales and to enter the market as quickly as possible.

In order to achieve these goals, a classic commercial sponsorship model for the solution was finally defined, which was planned to develop over time into a value-based system in which the price of the solution is determined by the added value supplied to the customer. As part of the payment model, customers were granted a high degree of flexibility. Depending on the frequency of use, both flat rate and pay-per-use options exist.

Phase 5: Customer Targeting

Go-to-market Phase 5 - Payment Model

For a digital healthcare solution to be successful, more must be done than to just satisfy a customer need. A value story must also be formed that includes various medical, economic and emotional facets. Accordingly, the new digital product was equipped in this project step with a value story that addresses all of the facets mentioned above. In parallel, suitable distribution channels (online and offline) were selected in order to reach future users in the best possible way.

Phase 6: Market Potential

Go-to-market Phase 6 - Channels

The next step included gaining an understanding of the addressable market volume so that sales potential could be optimally estimated. Together with our client, we decided to divide this market outlook into two phases: the near future (upcoming 1-2 years) and the medium future (upcoming 3-5 years). The addressable market for the new digital solution consisted primarily of providers of laboratory services – both in the private and public sector. Hence, a pilot phase for the solution was therefore decided upon, which will take place in two laboratory chains in five country markets.

Phase 7: Launch Execution

Go-to-market Phase 6 - Channels
Go-to-market Phase 7-2 - Market Model

A regional approach was chosen to implement the product launch. Initially, a launch of those five European country markets was prioritized, that are most important for our client. The goal was to generate knowledge and best practices to facilitate the subsequent launch in the USA and APAC. In addition, resources were planned for the launch, in the course of which the scope of the required field staff was also determined. The already active cooperation with established laboratory chains enabled their additional assistance in communicating the digital solution to doctors.

Helps develop successful concepts: the Digital Innovation Canvas

Canvas model for market-oriented development of digital solutions

The Digital Innovation Canvas represents a model for market-oriented innovation design. The visible content represents an exemplary concept for an algorithm-based solution in the field of oncology. By using the canvas during an early product development stage, stakeholders can consolidate ideas and jointly determine the direction of the further development process.

The most important results in detail

At the project start, there was already an idea for a digital solution. However, a detailed understanding of the end customers and the commercial possibilities was missing. Based on the conducted market profiling and customer assessment, the product concept could be decisively sharpened. This provided clarity regarding the medical added value, the needs satisfied and the target customers of the new product – on a global level and for the subsidiaries in the respective target countries.

Our client was aware of the potential of digital products, but there was a lack of a structured, global approach to their launch at the project’s beginning. This reduced the speed and chances of success in the go-to-market. Our structured go-to-market approach and associated frameworks enabled us to identify the right target customers, uncover unmet needs and define individual steps for a successful go-to-market step in all target markets. In this way, we ensured that the new product found suitable market niches in all target countries – a key success factor for generating additional revenues.

At the project’s start, the digital solution already existed as an idea, but there wasn’t a value story yet. Consequently, our client had a hard time determining monetization and payment models and to select appropriate price points. By combining internal (client) and external (end customer) perspectives for the new product, we laid the foundation for the formulation of a value story that can be equally internalized by all stakeholders. This way, there was clarity about the benefits of the new product. This not only fostered an effective approach for the sales force, but also an overall successful go-to-market.

Digital Marketing Excellence: find out more? Nothing could be easier!

If you are interested in finding out more about our services in the field of the go-to-market for digital innovations or would like to discuss similar approaches for your company, please do not hesitate to spend a few seconds to leave an inquiry via our contact form. Our partner Karl-Hubertus Gruber will personally contact you promptly. Alternatively, you are welcome to contact us by emailing or calling us!

Contact us!

Porträtbild unseres Partners Karl-Hubertus Gruber
Partner

Karl-Hubertus Gruber

karl-hubertus.gruber@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 211 598929-59

Nach oben zeigende blaue Pfeile vor dunkelblauem Hintergrund

Nach der Produktentwicklung ist vor dem Markterfolg

Die Entwicklungsphase ist ein wichtiger Schritt für den Erfolg innovativer Produkte – und doch nur der erste von vielen. Die gewinnbringende Platzierung auf den Zielmärkten ist eine ebenso wichtige Aufgabe – dies gilt sowohl für digitale als auch für nicht-digitale Produkte. Für digitale Produkte kommt noch eine weitere Herausforderung hinzu: In vielen Unternehmen existiert für sie kein systematischer and standardisierter Go-to-Market-Ansatz. Doch ein solcher Ansatz wird immer wichtiger: Digitale Geschäftsmodelle werden von Tag zu Tag komplexer. Wer für jede Markteinführung das Rad neu erfindet, fällt im Wettbewerb zurück und zählt auf digitalen Märkten schnell zum alten Eisen.

Um dieses Szenario zu verhindern, sicherte ein internationales IVD-Unternehmen die Unterstützung von Homburg & Partner. Der Klient verzeichnete bereits einige Skaleneffekte bei der Entwicklung digitaler Produkte – doch die Einführung in die jeweiligen Zielmärkte war stets so beschwerlich wie beim ersten Mal. Ziel des Projekts war es also, ein systematischen Go-to-Market-Ansatz für digitale Produkte zu konzipieren. Dieser sollte zukünftig weltweit im Unternehmen verankert sein, um den Arbeitsaufwand zu reduzieren und den Erfolg bei Markteinführungen zu steigern.

Darstellung drei zentraler Merkmale der Case Study "Digital Marketing Excellence"

In zehn Schritten zum Go-to-Market-Erfolg für digitale Lösungen

Bewegen Sie die Maus über Symbole auf der interaktiven Roadmap, um Leitfragen und Lösungsansätze für die einzelnen Schritte zu sehen.
ObjectivesInsight GainingCustomer SegmentBuying ProcessPayment MethodPayment ModelValue AssessmentChannelsMarket ModelLaunch Plan
Porträt Karl-Hubertus Gruber
Karl-Hubertus Gruber, Partner Medizintechnik:
“Der digitale Healthcare-Markt ist aktuell von vielen Neuprodukteinführungen geprägt. Was fast alle gemeinsam haben ist, dass ein systematischer, global definierter und lokal adaptierbarer Go-to-Market-Ansatz fehlt. Dieser bietet für jede digitale Health Solution einen Mehrwert. Ideal ist eine Kombination aus global einheitlichen Vorgaben, die situativ und vor allem marktorientiert angepasst werden.”
Porträt Dr. Jannick Theobald
Dr. Jannick Theobald, Consultant:
“Wie bei allen modernen Therapien ist die Kostenerstattung von entscheidender Bedeutung für die flächendeckende Etablierung digitaler Healthcare-Produkte. Der Erfolg bei der Neueinführung hängt vom Zusatznutzen für den Endnutzer oder den Anreizen an den Kostenträger ab. Indem ein strukturierter Go-to-Market-Ansatz für digitale Healthcare-Produkte verfolgt wird, können die richtigen Nutzer identifiziert, Value Stories formuliert und Preispunkte gesetzt werden. So gelingt es, innovative Produkte regional sowie global erfolgreich im Markt einzuführen.”

Phase 1: Set Objectives

Go-to-market Phase 1 - Objectives

Zu Beginn des Projektes stand eine digitale Idee im Raum, welche die Zuverlässigkeit von Diagnosen entlang von existierenden medizinischen Entscheidungspfaden steigern sollte. Die Frage, welches Ziel unser Klient mit der Lösung verfolgen möchte, war zu diesem Zeitpunkt jedoch unbeantwortet. Frühere digitale Lösungen wurden von unserem Klienten häufig als Zusatzleistungen ohne Zusatzpreis bereitgestellt, um gegenüber seinen Kunden damit nicht-digitale Produkte zu promoten. Im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Workshops mit Homburg & Partner wurde bestimmt, dass die neue digitale Lösung auch selbst zusätzlichen Umsatz generieren soll. Ziel war es, einen Ankerpunkt im Markt zu setzen und aus dem Kommerzialisierungsprozess Wissen für zukünftige Markteinführungen zu sammeln.

Phase 2: Insight Gaining

Go-to-market Phase 2 - Insight Gaining

Als Nächstes wurde in einem ersten Schritt entlang des 4C-Frameworks der Markt profiliert, um den medizinischen Mehrwert der Lösung zu bestimmen sowie Prävalenz, Epidemiologie und aktuelle Behandlungsmethoden einzubeziehen. Eine Analyse der Wettbewerbslandschaft fand statt und der Mehrwert der digitalen Lösung wurde anhand verschiedener Behandlungsszenarien evaluiert. Dies geschah durch eine Primary Market Assessment-Studie unter Verwendung von primären und sekundären Quellen.

Phase 3: Stakeholder Assessment

Go-to-market Phase 3-1 - Customer Segment
Go-to-market Phase 3-2 - Buying Process

Im nächsten Schritt stand der Einbezug der Kundenperspektive im Mittelpunkt. Zu diesem Zweck fand eine Evaluierung potenzieller Kundengruppen und deren individueller Bedürfnisse statt. Dazu zählte auch die Attraktivitätsbewertung der digitalen Lösung für einzelne Kundengruppen. Hierzu wurden pro Kundengruppe Bedarfsstärke, Umsetzungsaufwand für unseren Klienten und Implementierungsaufwand für den Endkunden berücksichtigt. Ein zusätzlicher Fokus lag auf dem Verständnis der einzelnen Schritte des Einkaufprozesses von digitalen Lösungen bei den Kunden und der einbezogenen Stakeholder.

Phase 4: Commercial Model

Go-to-market Phase 4-1 - Payment Method
Go-to-market Phase 4-2 - Payment Model

Eine der größten Herausforderungen beim Entwurf einer Go-to-Market-Strategie ist die Identifikation optimaler Monetarisierungs- und Bezahlmodelle. Um diese Herausforderung zu meistern, waren die Ergebnisse aus den vorhergehenden Projektschritten zentral: Da eine klar definierte digitale Lösung mit Einsatzfeld, Kundengruppe, medizinischem Mehrwert und Value Story existierte, waren schnell mehrere kompatible Szenarien für die Monetarisierung gefunden. Unser Klient plante, mit der digitalen Lösung zusätzlichen Umsatz zu generieren und einen möglichst schnellen Markteintritt durchzuführen.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, wurde schließlich ein klassisches Commercial Sponsorship-Modell für die Lösung festgelegt, welches sich über die Zeit zu einem Value-based-System weiterentwickeln soll, in welchem der Preis der Lösung über den gestifteten Mehrwert beim Kunden bestimmt wird. Im Rahmen des Zahlungsmodells wurde den Kunden eine hohe Flexibilität eingeräumt – je nach Häufigkeit der Nutzung existieren sowohl Flatrate als auch Pay-per-Use Optionen.

Phase 5: Customer Targeting

Go-to-market Phase 5 - Value Assessment

Damit eine digitale Healthcare-Lösung erfolgreich ist, reicht es nicht, ein Bedürfnis des Kunden zu befriedigen. Es muss auch eine Value Story geformt werden, die verschiedene medizinische, ökonomische und emotionale Facetten beinhaltet. Entsprechend wurde das neue digitale Produkt in diesem Projektschritt mit einer Value Story angereichert, die alle der oben genannten Facetten adressiert. Damit einhergehend fand eine Auswahl der passenden Vertriebskanäle (online und offline) statt, um zukünftige Nutzer bestmöglich zu erreichen.

Phase 6: Market Potential

Go-to-market Phase 6 - Channels

Im nächsten Schritt galt es, ein Verständnis über das adressierbare Marktvolumen zu erhalten, damit Umsatzpotenziale bestmöglich abgeschätzt werden können. Gemeinsam mit unserem Klienten legten wir fest, diesen Marktausblick in zwei Phasen zu gliedern: die nahe Zukunft (kommende 1-2 Jahre) sowie die mittlere Zukunft (kommende 3-5 Jahre). Der adressierbare Markt für die neue digitale Lösung bestand vor allem aus Anbietern von Labor-Services – sowohl im privaten als auch im öffentlichen Bereich. Daher wurde eine Pilotphase für die Lösung beschlossen, welche in zwei Laborketten auf fünf Ländermärkten stattfindet.

Phase 7: Launch Execution

Go-to-market Phase 7-1 - Market Model
Go-to-market Phase 7-2 - Launch Plan

Zur Durchführung des Produkt-Launchs wurde ein regionaler Ansatz gewählt. Zunächst wurde ein Launch fünf europäischen Ländermärkten priorisiert, welche am wichtigsten für unseren Klienten sind. Hierbei war das Ziel, Wissen und Best-Practices zu generieren, um den darauffolgenden Launch in den USA und APAC zu erleichtern. Darüber hinaus fand eine Ressourcenplanung für den Launch statt, im Zuge derer auch der Umfang des benötigten Außendienstpersonals festgelegt wurde. Die bereits aktive Zusammenarbeit mit etablierten Laborketten ermöglichte deren zusätzliche Mithilfe bei der Kommunikation der digitalen Lösung an Ärzte.

Hilft, starke Konzepte zu entwickeln: der Digital Innovation Canvas

Canvas-Modell zur marktorientierten Gestaltung digitaler Innovationen

Der Digital Innovation Canvas stellt ein Modell zur marktorientierten Gestaltung digitaler Innovationen dar. Die dargestellten Inhalte visualisieren beispielhaft die Bausteine für einen neuartigen Algorithmus im Bereich der Onkologie. Indem der Canvas in der Frühphase der Produktentwicklung herangezogen wird, können Stakeholder durch die gemeinsame Befüllung der einzelnen Kategorien schnell eine ganzheitliche Richtung für den weiteren Entwicklungsprozess festlegen.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse im Detail

Zu Beginn des Projektes war bereits eine Idee einer digitalen Lösung vorhanden. Ein detaliertes Verständnis der Endkunden und der kommerziellen Möglichkeiten fehlte jedoch. Basierend auf dem durchgeführten Market Profiling und Customer Assessment konnte das Produktkonzept entscheidend geschärft werden. So wurde Klarheit geschaffen bezüglich des medizinischen Mehrwerts, des befriedigten Bedarfs und der Zielkunden des neuen Produkts – auf globaler Ebene sowie für die Tochtergesellschaften in den jeweiligen Zielländern.

Unser Klient wusste um das Potenzial digitaler Produkte, doch zu Projektbeginn fehlte ein strukturierter, global vorgegebener Ansatz für ihre Markteinführung. Dadurch reduzierten sich Geschwindigkeit und Erfolgsaussichten beim Go-to-Market. Durch unseren strukturierten Go-to-Market Ansatz und verbundene Frameworks konnten die richtigen Zielkunden identifiziert werden, unbefriedigte Bedarfe aufgedeckt werden und Einzelschritte für den erfolgreichen Go-to-Market in allen Zielmärkten festgelegt werden. So stellten wir sicher, dass das neue Produkt in allen Zielländern auf die geeigneten Marktnischen trifft – ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor, um zusätzliche Einnahmen zu generieren.

Am Anfang des Projektes existierte die digitale Lösung bereits in Ideenform, doch eine Value Story war noch nicht vorhanden. Daher fiel es unserem Klienten schwer, Monetarisierungs- und Zahlungsmodell zu bestimmen sowie entsprechende Preisepunkte zu wählen. Indem wir interne (Klient) und externe (Endkunden) Perspektiven auf das neue Produkt vereinten, wurde der Grundstein für die Formulierung einer Value Story gelegt, die von allen Stakeholdern gleichermaßen verinnerlicht werden kann. So existiert Klarheit über die Vorteile des neuen Produkts, was nicht bloß eine effektive Vorgehensweise für den Außendienst begünstigt – sondern auch den allgemeinen, erfolgreichen Go-to-Market.

Digital Marketing Excellence: mehr erfahren? Nichts leichter als das!

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Leistungen im Bereich des Go-to-Market für digitale Innovationen erfahren oder ähnliche Ansatzpunkte für Ihr Unternehmen besprechen möchten, können Sie über das Kontaktformular in wenigen Sekunden eine Anfrage hinterlassen. Unser Partner Karl-Hubertus Gruber meldet sich daraufhin persönlich bei Ihnen. Alternativ können Sie auch gerne direkt eine E-Mail senden oder anrufen!

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Porträtbild unseres Partners Karl-Hubertus Gruber
Partner

Karl-Hubertus Gruber

karl-hubertus.gruber@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 211 598929-59

Porträtbild unseres Consultants Dr. Jannick Theobald
Consultant

Dr. Jannick Theobald

jannick.theobald@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-272