Blaue Hand, die eine Visualisierung eines ansteigenden Graphen hält

Wanted: the sweet spot on the price tag

Digital services offer enormous potential for manufacturers in mechanical and plant engineering: a widely spread fact by now. However, the roll-out process of new services brings with it a question that is just as important for the success of innovative services as their original conception: How much may they cost? Companies often struggle with finding a good answer. The usual amount of benchmark data are rarely available for innovative services, hence the basis for making decisions is slim. And yet the stakes are high: If innovative services are overpriced, they are not worthwhile for the customer. If the price is too low, they are not worthwhile for the manufacturer. So what is the sweet spot?

SESOTEC, a German producer of solutions for foreign object detection, material sorting and analysis, was looking at this question when it approached Homburg & Partner. The company had already developed several own, innovative service solutions up to market maturity. With our support, the goal was to ensure that new solutions would actually produce their intended effect: stronger customer loyalty, differentiation from the competition and an increase in sales. It was not simply about finding optimal pricing. It was also important to ensure that the new services fit perfectly within the existing service portfolio and that package solutions would generate synergetic effects.

The most important results of the digital service monetization project described here

Pricing models for digital services in machine engineering: Overview

Hover your mouse over the names of the pricing models to see further details.
Single payment Subscription Flat rate Pay Per Use Freemium Gain-Sharing Dynamic Pricing
Logo von SESOTEC vor grauem Hintergrund
Markus Grimm, Group Director Service at SESOTEC:

“Homburg & Partner has been instrumental in helping us to correctly price and launch digital services. The service packages and price models that came out of our joint project are very well received by our customers. For example, we run numerous remote support tasks for our customers every day and can thereby solve many problems online without having to be on site. The benefits for our customers are evident: High availability of systems, process reliability, productivity and no travel costs for service employees. And that is the case not only during unscheduled downtimes or in times of crisis, but in general.”

Establish bases for making decisions…

At the start of the project, the focus was on creating a database to facilitate making robust decisions for the monetization of digital services. To this end, existing analog and digital services were first catalogued in key working groups. The project team then joined with representatives from service, sales, product management and marketing to carry out customer segmentation. The objective was to use specific use cases to derive targeted needs and willingness to pay per service type and specific business models for dealers.

Subsequently, a variety of options for pricing models and monetization dates were discussed, evaluated and assigned to digital services in workshops. The joint discussions hence resulted in maintenance packages that were sensibly bundled – from purely analog to maximum digital features.

… and determine pricing

Once the service packages were put together, the final prices per package had to be determined. The decisions were made based on four steps: To begin with, the absolute lower price limit was set based on internal costs. Then the added value was calculated in euros – this was done by considering specific use cases.

The next step focused on internal price estimates: Using Van Westendorp’s Price Sensitivity Meter, we captured the prices that key client stakeholders saw as reasonable. In order to accurately reflect the factual willingness to pay on the market, the last step involved validating the previously recorded prices with selected existing customers.

To ensure the long-term market success of the digital service packages, tools and helpers were developed for sales, marketing measures were specified and a core, software-based administration of contracts with an asset relationship management (ARM) system was implemented.

Decision basis for custom-fit monetization: Manufacturer-specific price model ranking

Manufacturer-specific price model ranking for machine engineering companies

The ranking assesses different pricing models based on individual, manufacturer-specific factors and needs. These can then be specifically weighed in a further step. This way, a robust foundation for making decisions is created in order to determine pricing models for digital services that also satisfy the producer’s needs.

The most important results in detail

Our client already had numerous innovative service solutions at the start of the project, including remote diagnosis and predictive maintenance. What was missing was a quantifiable description of uses from the customer’s point of view as well as a structured bundling of analog and digital service features in a package that could be sold.

To change this, we designed a description of concrete use case based on specific customer types and service features. We based the quantification on measurable added benefits for the customer, including reduction of downtimes, optimal maintenance times and decrease of spare part stocks. In workshops, different service levels were bundled into maintenance packages, so that packages or custom options can be booked for each customer requirement.

At the project start, our client already had a rough classification of customer types and a segmentation according to sales volume. However, this was only valid for sales. Therefore, together with stakeholders from the service and sales area, we developed a customer segmentation that is tailored to the service business.

Customers’ operating and service behavior was examined across different dimensions, for example cost or benefit orientation and the level of affinity to IoT solutions. In the course of this, each customer was assigned to one of three service categories: breakdown-driven, operations-driven and performance-driven. The outcome was a customer segmentation that is specifically tailored to the service business and helps our client effectively identify and meet the service needs of its customers.

At the project start, our client had already developed several digital services up to market maturity. Yet their concrete monetization remained unclear. By analyzing benefits, costs and customer value, we determined the optimal pricing models for each digital and analog service feature. Based on the validation of the pricing models by selected service customers, the exploitation of market potential was maximized. This had a direct quantitative effect. In several service cases, a 20% higher willingness to pay could be achieved.

Our client’s goal was to ensure that his digital services are used by as many customers as possible when they enter the market. To achieve this goal, a key factor for success was not only appropriate pricing but also the right marketing. This was ensured by service-specific marketing campaigns, keynote speeches at trade fairs and events and an online “Total Cost of Ownership Calculator” for service customers.

In addition, it was important to our client to continuously promote the success of the new service solutions in their everyday business. In order to steer the newly developed processes as optimally as possible, a central software solution for service relationships mapped the entire service workflow. We developed detailed argumentation and communication guidelines for our client’s sales team to strengthen their basis for negotiating regarding the new service portfolio. The overall result for our client: digital service solutions that are more than digital fleeting stars.

Digital Service Monetization: find out more? Nothing could be easier!

If you are interested in finding out more about our services in the field of pricing for digital services or would like to discuss similar approaches for your company, please do not hesitate to spend a few seconds to leave an inquiry via our contact form. Our partner Daniel Antolin will personally contact you promptly after that. Alternatively, you are welcome to contact us by emailing or calling us!

Contact us!

Porträtbild unseres Partners Daniel Antolin
Partner

Daniel Antolin

daniel.antolin@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 89 20359-106

Blaue Hand, die eine digitale Visualisierung eines ansteigenden Graphen hält

Gesucht: die goldene Mitte auf dem Preisschild

Digitale Serviceleistungen bieten enorme Potenziale für Hersteller im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau: eine inzwischen altbekannte Weisheit. Im Einführungsprozess neuer Services verbirgt sich jedoch eine Frage, die ebenso wichtig für den Erfolg innovativer Services ist wie deren ursprüngliche Konzeption: Was dürfen sie kosten? Oft fällt Unternehmen eine gute Antwort schwer. Benchmark-Daten sind für innovative Services selten im üblichen Maß verfügbar, die Entscheidungsbasis ist schmal. Doch es steht viel auf dem Spiel: Sind innovative Services zu hoch bepreist, lohnen sie sich nicht für den Kunden. Ist der Preis zu niedrig, lohnen sie sich nicht für den Hersteller. Wo liegt die goldene Mitte?

Mit dieser Frage beschäftigte sich SESOTEC, ein deutscher Hersteller von Lösungen für Fremdkörperdetektion, Materialsortierung und -analyse, als er auf Homburg & Partner zukam. Das Unternehmen hatte bereits einige innovative Servicelösungen bis hin zur Marktreife entwickelt. Mit unserer Unterstützung sollte erreicht werden, dass die neuen Lösungen auch wirklich ihre beabsichtigte Wirkung entfalten: stärkere Kundenbindung, Differenzierung vom Wettbewerb und ein Umsatzplus. Dabei ging es nicht nur um die optimale Bepreisung – es sollte auch sichergestellt werden, dass die neuen Services sich ideal in das bestehende Serviceportfolio eingliedern und durch Paketlösungen Synergieeffekte entstehen.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse des Digital Service Monetization-Projekts

Preismodelle für digitale Services im Maschinenbau: Überblick

Bewegen Sie die Maus über die Namen der Preismodelle, um Details zu sehen.
Einmalzahlung Abonnement Flatrate Pay Per Use Freemium Gain-Sharing Dynamisches Pricing
Logo von SESOTEC vor grauem Hintergrund
Markus Grimm, Group Director Service bei SESOTEC:
“Homburg & Partner hat uns maßgeblich bei der richtigen Bepreisung und Markteinführung digitaler Services unterstützt. Die aus dem gemeinsamen Projekt entstandenen Servicepakete und Preismodelle werden von unseren Kunden sehr gut angenommen. So führen wir zum Beispiel täglich zahlreiche Remote-Unterstützungen bei unseren Kunden durch und können so viele Probleme online lösen, ohne vor Ort sein zu müssen. Die Vorteile für unsere Kunden liegen auf der Hand: Hohe Anlagenverfügbarkeit, Prozesssicherheit, Produktivität und keine Kosten für die Anreise eines Servicemitarbeiters. Und das Ganze gilt nicht nur bei ungeplanten Stillständen oder in Krisenzeiten, sondern generell.“

Entscheidungsbasis etablieren…

Zu Beginn des Projekts stand die Erstellung einer Datenbasis im Mittelpunkt, um belastbare Entscheidungen für die Monetarisierung der digitalen Services zu treffen. Hierfür wurden zunächst in zentralen Arbeitsgruppen bestehende analoge und digitale Dienstleistungen katalogisiert. Gemeinsam mit Vertretern aus Service, Vertrieb, Produktmanagement und Marketing nahm das Projektteam daraufhin Kundensegmentierungen vor. Ziel dabei war es, anhand konkreter Use Cases zielgerichtete Bedarfe und Zahlungsbereitschaften pro Servicetyp und spezifische Geschäftsmodelle für Händler abzuleiten.

Im Folgenden wurden verschiedene Möglichkeiten von Preismodellen und Monetarisierungs-Zeitpunkten in Workshops diskutiert, bewertet und den digitalen Services zugeordnet. Aus den gemeinsamen Diskussionen entstanden so sinnvoll gebündelte Wartungspakete – von rein analogen bis hin zu maximal digitalen Features.

…Preissetzung determinieren

Nachdem die Servicepakete geschnürt waren galt es, die finalen Preise pro Paket festzulegen. Die Entscheidungsfindung basierte auf vier Schritten: Zunächst wurde eine absolute Preisuntergrenze auf Basis der internen Kosten festgelegt. Es folgte die Bestimmung des Zusatznutzens in Euro – sie erfolgte durch die Betrachtung konkreter Use Cases.

Im nächsten Schritt stand die interne Preiseinschätzung im Mittelpunkt: Mithilfe von Van Westendorp’s Price Sensitivity Meter erfassten wir die Preise, die zentrale Klienten-Stakeholder als gerechtfertigt betrachteten. Um die reale Zahlungsbereitschaft auf dem Markt genau zu treffen, erfolgte im letzten Arbeitsschritt eine Validierung der zuvor erfassten Preise mit ausgewählten Bestandskunden.

Um einen langfristigen Markterfolg der digitalen Servicepakete sicherzustellen, wurden Tools & Helpers für den Vertrieb entwickelt, Marketingmaßnahmen konkretisiert sowie eine zentrale, softwarebasierte Verwaltung von Verträgen mit einem Asset-Relationship-Management (ARM) System implementiert.

Entscheidungsbasis für passgenaue Monetarisierung: Das herstellerspezifische Preismodell-Ranking

Entscheidungsbasis für passgenaue Monetarisierung: Das herstellerspezifische Preismodell-Ranking

Das Ranking bewertet verschiedene Preismodelle anhand individueller, herstellerspezifischer Faktoren und Bedürfnissen. In einem weiteren Arbeitsschritt können diese zudem individuell gewichtet werden. So entsteht eine solide Entscheidungsbasis, um Preismodelle für digitale Services festzulegen, die auch wirklich die Bedürfnisse des Herstellers erfüllen.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse im Detail

Unser Klient verfügte bereits zu Projektbeginn über zahlreiche innovative Servicelösungen, unter anderem im Bereich Remote-Diagnose und Predictive Maintenance. Was fehlte, war eine quantifizierbare Nutzenbeschreibung aus Kundensicht sowie eine strukturierte Bündelung von analogen und digitalen Servicefeatures in verkaufsfähige Pakete.

Um das zu ändern, konzipierten wir eine Beschreibung konkreter Use Cases anhand von spezifischen Kundentypen und Servicefeatures. Die Quantifizierung erfolgte anhand von messbaren Zusatznutzen für den Kunden – beispielsweise Reduktion der Stillstandzeiten, optimale Wartungszeitpunkte und Verringerung der Ersatzteilbestände. In Workshops wurden verschiedene Serviceausprägungen zu Wartungspaketen gebündelt, sodass für jede Kundenanforderung Pakete oder einzelne Optionen buchbar sind.

Auf Seiten unseres Auftraggebers gab es zu Projektbeginn bereits eine grobe Einteilung der Kundentypen sowie eine Segmentierung nach Umsatzgröße. Diese war jedoch nur für den Vertrieb gültig. Deswegen entwickelten wir gemeinsam mit Stakeholdern aus dem Service- und Sales-Bereich eine Kundensegmentierung, die spezifisch auf das Servicegeschäft zugeschnitten ist.

Betriebs- und Serviceverhalten von Kunden wurde entlang verschiedener Dimensionen betrachtet, zum Beispiel der Kosten- oder Nutzenorientierung sowie dem Affinitätsgrad zu IoT-Lösungen. Im Zuge dessen wurde jeder Kunde einem von drei Servicetypen zugeordnet: „breakdown-getrieben“, „operations-getrieben“ und „performance-getrieben“. So entstand eine Kundensegmentierung, die spezifisch auf das Servicegeschäft zugeschnitten ist und unserem Klienten hilft, die Servicebedürfnisse seiner Kunden effektiv zu erfassen und zu erfüllen.

Unser Klient hatte zu Projektbeginn bereits mehrere digitale Services bis hin zur Marktreife entwickelt – doch ihre konkrete Monetarisierung blieb noch unklar. Indem wir Nutzen, Kosten und Kunden-Mehrwert analysierten, konnten wir die optimalen Preismodelle für jedes digitale und analoge Servicefeature festlegen. Anhang der Validierung der Preismodelle durch ausgewählte Servicekunden wurde die Abschöpfung des Marktpotenzials maximiert. Das machte sich direkt quantitativ bemerkbar – in einigen Servicefällen konnte so eine 20% höhere Zahlungsbereitschaft durchgesetzt werden.

Ziel unseres Klienten war, dass seine digitalen Services direkt beim Markteintritt von möglichst vielen Kunden genutzt werden. Zum Erreichen dieses Ziels war neben der passenden Bepreisung auch die richtige Vermarktung ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor. Diese wurde durch servicespezifische Marketingkampagnen, Keynote-Vorträge auf Messen und Veranstaltungen sowie einen online verfügbaren „Total-Cost-of Ownership Rechner“ für Servicekunden sichergestellt.

Zudem war es unserem Auftraggeber wichtig, den Erfolg der neuen Servicelösungen auch im eigenen Unternehmensalltag kontinuierlich zu fördern. Um die neu entstandenen Prozesse bestmöglich zu steuern, wurde mit einer zentralen Service-Relationship Softwarelösung der gesamte Service Workflow digital abgebildet. Für das Vertriebspersonal unseres Klienten entwickelten wir einen detaillierten Argumentations- und Kommunikationsleitfaden, um ihre Verhandlungsbasis rund um das neue Serviceportfolio zu stärken. Das Gesamtergebnis für unseren Klienten: Digitale Servicelösungen, die nicht zu digitalen Eintagsfliegen wurden.

Roboterhand, die nach rechts zeigt
Digital Business Check jetzt entdecken!

Wie viel können Sie in fünf Minuten über den digitalen Fortschritt Ihres Unternehmens erfahren?
Mehr, als Sie denken!

Digital Service Monetization: mehr erfahren? Nichts leichter als das!

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Leistungen im Bereich der Preisfindung für digitale Services erfahren oder ähnliche Ansatzpunkte für Ihr Unternehmen besprechen möchten, können Sie über das Kontaktformular in wenigen Sekunden eine Anfrage hinterlassen. Unser Partner Daniel Antolin meldet sich daraufhin persönlich bei Ihnen. Alternativ können Sie auch gerne direkt eine E-Mail senden oder anrufen!

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Porträtbild unseres Partners Daniel Antolin
Partner

Daniel Antolin

daniel.antolin@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 89 20359-106

Porträtbild unseres Senior Consultants Tilman Kreissig
Senior Manager

Tilman Kreissig

tilman.kreissig@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 89 20359-126