Market Strategy Excellence

Lay the foundation for profitable and lasting growth.

The significance and necessity of strategy in times of a dynamic and disruptive market environment with increasing structural change is greater than ever before. Building on this and in order to find the right solution for tech providers, a number of strategic factors in the company’s environment need to be taken into account, thus guaranteeing lasting competitiveness. We are happy to advise you in the areas of company strategy, marketing and sales strategy, digital & agile transformation concerning market requirements, strategies for portfolios, products, and brands as well as market entry and competitive strategies.

With the Market Strategy Excellence approach, Homburg & Partner provides tech companies with a simple guideline on how to systematically develop your market-oriented strategy in six modules. These modules include strategic concepts and instruments proven in practice which facilitate developing such strategies.

Market Strategy Excellence Framework

To begin with, we examine your company and its environment comprehensively using the “5C Model” before conducting an analysis using primary surveys and secondary data. The current situation is presented by contrasting customers, the competition, channels as well as country-specific factors with one’s own company.

  • Customers: Preparing a “Customer Journey” based on an analysis of customer behavior and needs
  • Competitors: Compiling conclusive competitor profiles based on an analysis of strengths and weaknesses of your most important IT competitors
  • Channels: Prioritizing acquisitive and logistical distribution channels as well as suitable information channels based on an evaluation of suitability
  • Country specifics: Quantifying the market potential by analyzing country-specific socio-economic and regulatory market environments
  • Company: Determining strengths and weaknesses as well as untapped potential based on a status quo analysis of your company

We then interpret the results of our descriptive analysis and project trends. Using a SWOT analysis, we comprehensively compile and systematically contrast strengths and weaknesses as well as opportunities and threats as factors which can influence your company’s success. Based on this, we can determine strategic potentials with internal and external relevance for success.

The findings collected during the first three modules are then compiled in a “House of Strategy” to present a target situation and produce strategic principles. Within the strategy house we then derive specific recommendations for action from the SWOT matrix based upon which you will be able to strategically position your company for the future.

There is a last step to successfully complete developing a strategy and to guarantee a clearly controlled implementation thereof. To do so, we use a guideline to translate the strategic principles into operative measures and develop areas of activity which are then broken down into specific individual measures.

Finally, we initiate a control process which runs through all modules and tests the effectiveness and validity of the development and implementation of the strategy – an element neglected frequently in business practice despite its great importance. This strategy control functions as an ongoing means to measure target attainment, while important measured values such as sales, growth rates or installed base serve as KPIs.

Our experts for Information Technology

Homburg & Partner can look back upon many years of experience in using the MSE approach to efficiently connect external opportunities in the tech sector with customers’ internal resources and to successfully develop market growth strategies for tech companies active in a purely domestic or international context.

Do you have questions or wish to discuss a topic? Then please contact our experts Dr. Michael Scholl and Dr. Michael Marquardt.

Managing Director & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0

Senior Manager

Dr. Michael Marquardt

michael.marquardt@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-148

Market Strategy Excellence

Legen Sie den Grundstein für profitables und nachhaltiges Wachstum.

Die Bedeutung und Notwendigkeit von Strategie ist in Zeiten eines dynamischen und disruptiven Marktumfelds mit zunehmendem strukturellem Wandel höher als jemals zuvor. Um hierauf aufbauend die passende Lösung für Tech-Anbieter zu entwickeln, muss eine Vielzahl von strategischen Faktoren im Umfeld des Unternehmens verstanden und berücksichtigt werden, um nachhaltige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu gewährleisten. Gerne beraten wir Sie in den Bereichen Unternehmensstrategie, Marketing- und Vertriebsstrategie, digitale & agile Transformation mit Blick auf die Marktbedürfnisse, Portfolio-, Produkt- und Markenstrategie sowie Markteintritts- und Wettbewerbsstrategie.

Mit dem Market Strategy Excellence-Ansatz bietet Homburg & Partner Tech-Unternehmen einen einfachen Leitfaden zur systematischen Entwicklung ihrer marktorientierten Strategie in sechs Modulen. Diese Module beinhalten strategische Konzepte und praxisbewiesene Instrumente, die eine solche Strategieentwicklung vereinfachen.

Zunächst untersuchen wir Ihr Unternehmen und seine Umwelt umfassend mithilfe des „5C-Modells“ und analysieren daraufhin anhand von Primärerhebungen und Sekundärdaten. Dabei soll die Ist-Situation durch eine Gegenüberstellung von Kunden, Wettbewerb, Kanälen sowie länderspezifischen Faktoren und dem eigenen Unternehmen abgebildet werden.

  • Customers: Aufbereitung der „Customer Journey“ durch Analyse von Kundenverhalten und -bedürfnissen
  • Competitors: Erstellung aussagekräftiger Wettbewerberprofile mittels Stärken- und Schwächenanalysen Ihrer wichtigsten IT-Konkurrenten
  • Channels: Priorisierung von akquisitorischen und logistischen Distributionskanälen sowie geeigneter Informationskanälen auf Basis von Passungsbewertungen
  • Country Specifics: Quantifizierung des Marktpotentials durch Analyse des länderspezifischen sozioökonomischen und regulatorischen Marktumfelds
  • Company: Ermittlung von Stärken und Schwächen sowie ungenutzten Potentialen anhand der Status Quo Betrachtung in Ihrem Unternehmen

In der Explorationsphase bewerten wir die erkannten Fakten und Trends mit Hilfe von Schätzverfahren und extrapolieren diese anschließend in Form von u.a. Marktpotenzialen und jährlichen Wachstumsraten. Grundlage hierfür können u.a. Schätzungen von IT-Experten oder die Ergebnisse von Marktforschungen sein. Dadurch identifizieren wir auf Sie spezialisierte, potenzielle Wachstumsfelder in allen Bereichen des 5C-Modells.

Im Anschluss erfolgt die Deutung unserer Ergebnisse aus der deskriptiven Analyse sowie die Projizierung der Trends. Mithilfe einer SWOT-Analyse führen wir eine umfassende Aufnahme und systematische Gegenüberstellung der Stärken und Schwächen sowie Chancen und Risiken als Einflussfaktoren auf Ihren Unternehmenserfolg durch, um auf dieser Basis strategische Potenziale mit interner und externer Erfolgsrelevanz abzuleiten.

Aus den ersten drei Modulen gewonnene Erkenntnisse werden daraufhin in einem „House-of-Strategy“ zu einer Soll-Situation zusammengefügt und strategische Prinzipien formuliert. Innerhalb dieses Strategiehauses leiten wir konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen aus der SWOT-Matrix ab, mit denen Sie Ihr Unternehmen strategisch für die Zukunft positionieren.

Um die Strategieentwicklung erfolgreich abzuschließen, gilt es in einem letzten Schritt eine klar gesteuerte Implementierung zu gewährleisten. Hierzu übersetzen wir mithilfe eines Leitfadens die strategischen Prinzipien in operative Maßnahmen und entwickeln Aktivitätsfelder, die danach auf konkrete Einzelmaßnahmen für Sie heruntergebrochen werden.

Letztlich leiten wir einen durch alle Module laufenden Kontroll-Prozess ein, der die Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Strategie auf ihre Effektivität und Aktualität überprüft – ein trotz enormer Wichtigkeit viel zu oft in der Geschäftspraxis vernachlässigter Bestandteil. Diese Strategiekontrolle dient hierbei als ein ständiges Mittel zur Messung der Zielerreichung, wobei wichtige Messgrößen wie Umsatz, Wachstumsraten oder Installed Base als KPIs dienen.

Unsere Experten für Information Technology

Homburg & Partner verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung, mit Hilfe des MSE-Ansatzes externe Chancen in der Tech-Branche und interne Ressourcen von Kunden effizient miteinander zu verknüpfen und erfolgreiche Marktwachstumsstrategien für sowohl rein national als auch international agierende Tech-Unternehmen zu entwickeln.

Haben Sie Fragen oder wünschen Sie eine Diskussion zum Thema? Dann kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere Experten Dr. Michael Scholl sowie Dr. Michael Marquardt.

Dr. Michael Scholl
Geschäftsführer & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0

Senior Manager

Dr. Michael Marquardt

michael.marquardt@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-148