Helle Linien auf blauem Hintergrund, die in einem Vortex zusammenfließen

Which channels really work?

Healthcare and pharmaceutical companies are multi-channel veterans – addressing physicians and other target groups across differentiated communications channels is the standard in the industry. Which communication channel has the biggest impact on the prescription behavior of physicians often remains unclear for many companies, however.

Our customer, a globally leading pharmaceutical company sought to answer this question when he contacted Homburg & Partner. His goal was to choose the right channels for communicating with general practitioners based on data. In connection with this, internal resources and budgets were to be allocated more efficiently according to the expected value contribution per channel.

Most important results of the marketing channel impact project described here

How to analyze value contribution per channel

Pause the video to view individual steps in detail.
Porträt Christian Zuberer
Christian Zuberer, Partner Pharma:

“Nobody has a magic ball – you cannot nor will you be able to completely model prescriptions from doctors. While communication channels often used to be selected in an unsystematic way, the statistical analysis of large data volumes for the prioritization of channels is a milestone in Commercial Performance Management. This is a huge help for our clients to drive the future selection of channels as well as the discussion surrounding appropriate budget and resource allocations a step further both based on facts and independently of people’s personal gut feeling.”

Broad database for pointed analyses

The development of a high-quality database was at the heart of the first project step. We developed these together with our client by aggregating information from internal client systems (such as channel frequencies of the target group from CRM system) as well as external customer data (such as prescription figures of general practitioners from external service providers) in a data cube. Internal and external data could be linked via unambiguous key criteria. Data protection conformity was ensured throughout the entire process. To make it easier to provide available data from the internal CRM system, we created a standard template that clearly showed our client contact persons the required data structure.

The created data cube made it possible to quantify the value the 15 analyzed channels contribute and to visualize their impact on the prescribing behavior of general practitioners and their attitude towards the product. To achieve this, a stochastic model (correlation analyses, multivariate regression analyses, cluster analyses) was used to prove the effect of individual communication channels in a statistically significant manner. The available data on the client’s communication measures with general practitioners exhibit a high degree of complexity. This makes it possible to carry out analyses according to certain sub-target groups and geographical regions (e.g. associations of statutory health insurance physicians).

Three key results of the marketing channel impact project

The most important results in detail

The creation of a data cube marked the starting point for the analysis of the value contribution per channel. The cube combined all relevant internal and external data on client communication with general practitioners. This data cube was the client’s first tool that integrated all information on the frequencies of different channels that had previously been collected decentrally. Together with our client, we collected internal data from the CRM system to create it. In addition, we took over the communication with third party data providers for our clients in order to ensure the anonymity of external data (such as the prescription data of general practitioners) according to the ethical and moral principles of market research. After the project, the data cube could be provided to the client as a starting point for further individual analyses of communication with general practitioners.

The project provided our client a clear statement about which communication channel contributes which value to the prescription behavior of general practitioners. The 15 channels used were not only considered as individual silos, but also examined as different sequences of channels that are combinable – depending on how the client fashioned the communication with general practitioners across different channels. For example, it was possible to determine the value contribution of a trade conference with customer communication measures that occurred before and afterwards compared to a conference without accompanying communication.

In addition to the impact of a channel on prescribing behavior, it also became apparent how communication across channels affects general practices’ attitude regarding the product. To this end, data on the channel frequencies of the target group were combined with the classification of general practitioners on an internal adoption ladder by the responsible field staff. One result of this step was to provide the client with a clear statement on which communication channel increases the likelihood that a general practitioner recommends a product to a colleague.

The project results were presented to our client as a digital dashboard, which shows a channel’s effects on the prescription behavior of general practitioners as well as on their qualitative attitude towards the product and recommending it. This way, the client can take both effects into account when prioritizing channels in the future. In addition, all project results were visualized in a typical visualization tool to allow the client to conduct further analyses beyond the project scope. In the course of this step, the interface was custom-adapted to our client’s preferences and available systems and the compatibility with established tools such as Tableau or PowerBI was ensured.

Marketing channel impact: find out more? Nothing could be easier!

If you are interested in finding out more about our services in the field of measuring marketing success or would like to discuss similar approaches for your company, simply spend a few seconds to leave an inquiry on our contact form. Our partner Christian Zuberer will personally contact you promptly. Alternatively, you are welcome to email or call us!

Contact us!

Porträtbild unseres Partners Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Helle Linien auf blauem Hintergrund, die in einem Vortex zusammenfließen

Welche Kanäle wirken wirklich?

Healthcare- und Pharmaunternehmen sind Multikanal-Routiniers – die Ansprache von Ärzten und anderen Zielgruppen über differenzierte Kommunikationskanäle ist in der Branche Standard. Unklar bleibt für viele Unternehmen jedoch häufig, welcher Kommunikationskanal den größten Effekt auf das Verschreibungsverhalten von Ärzten hat.

Diese Frage wollte unser Kunde, ein weltweit führendes Pharmaunternehmen, beantworten, als er Homburg & Partner kontaktierte. Sein Ziel war es, datenbasiert die richtigen Kanäle für die Kommunikation mit Allgemeinmedizinern auszuwählen. In Verbindung damit sollten interne Ressourcen und Budgets effizienter nach dem erwarteten Wertbeitrag pro Kanal allokiert werden.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse des Marketing-Channel-Impact-Projekts

So funktioniert die Analyse des Wertbeitrags pro Kanal

Pausieren Sie das Video, um die einzelnen Schritte im Detail zu betrachten.
Porträt Christian Zuberer
Christian Zuberer, Partner Pharma:
“Niemand hat eine Glaskugel – Verschreibungen von Ärzten sind und bleiben nicht vollständig modellierbar. Während Kommunikationskanäle früher aber häufig unsystematisch ausgewählt wurden, ist die statistische Analyse großer Datenmengen für die Priorisierung von Kanälen ein Meilenstein im Commercial Performance Management. Unserem Kunden hilft das, die zukünftige Kanalauswahl sowie die Diskussion um entsprechende Budget- und Ressourcenallokation einen Schritt weiter faktenbasiert und abseits von individuellen Bauchgefühlen zu führen.”

Breite Datenbasis für spitze Analysen

Im ersten Projektschritt stand der Aufbau einer qualitativ hochwertigen Datengrundlage im Mittelpunkt. Diese erarbeiteten wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kunden, indem wir sowohl Informationen aus internen Kundensystemen (z.B. Kanalfrequenzen der Zielgruppe aus CRM-System), als auch externe Kundendaten (z.B. Verschreibungszahlen der Allgemeinmediziner von externen Dienstleistern) in einem Data Cube aggregierten. Interne und externe Daten konnten über eindeutige Schlüsselkriterien verknüpft werden. Datenschutzkonformität wurde über den gesamten Prozess hinweg sichergestellt. Um die Bereitstellung von verfügbaren Daten aus dem internen CRM-System zu erleichtern, erstellten wir ein Standardtemplate, welches unseren Ansprechpartnern auf Kundenseite die erforderliche Datenstruktur klar aufzeigte.

Der erstellte Data Cube machte es möglich, den Wertbeitrag der 15 analysierten Kanäle zu quantifizieren und ihre Auswirkung auf das Verschreibungsverhalten der Allgemeinmediziner und deren Einstellung zum Produkt sichtbar zu machen. Um dies zu erreichen, wurde auf stochastische Modelle (Korrelationsanalysen, Multivariate Regressionsanalysen, Clusteranalysen) zurückgegriffen, um den Effekt einzelner Kommunikationskanäle statistisch signifikant nachzuweisen. Die verfügbaren Daten zu den Kommunikationsmaßnahmen des Kunden mit Allgemeinmedizinern wiesen eine große Komplexität auf. Hierdurch war es möglich, Analysen nach bestimmten Subzielgruppen und geografischen Regionen (z.B. kassenärztliche Vereinigungen) durchzuführen.

Überblick über drei zentrale Projektergebnisse der Marketing Channel Impact Case Study

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse im Detail

Ausgangspunkt für die Wertbeitragsanalyse pro Kanal war die Erstellung eines Data Cubes, welcher alle relevanten internen und externen Daten der Kundenkommunikation mit Allgemeinmedizinern zusammenführte. Dieser Data Cube war das erste Tool des Kunden, das alle Informationen zu Frequenzen verschiedener Kanäle integrierte, die zuvor dezentral erfasst wurden. Für seine Erstellung sammelten und validierten wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kunden interne Daten aus dem CRM-System. Ergänzend haben wir die Kommunikation zu dritten Datenanbietern übernommen, um nach ethischen und moralischen Grundsätzen der Marktforschung die Anonymität externer Daten (z.B. Verschreibungsdaten der Allgemeinmediziner) für unseren Kunden zu gewährleisten. Der Data Cube konnte dem Kunden nach dem Projekt als Ausgangslage für weiterführende Individualanalysen der Kommunikation zu Allgemeinmedizinern übergeben werden.

Das Projekt lieferte unserem Kunden eine klare Aussage darüber, welcher Kommunikationskanal welchen Wertbeitrag zum Verschreibungsverhalten der Allgemeinmediziner liefert. Dabei wurden die 15 genutzten Kanäle nicht nur als einzelne Silos betrachtet, sondern auch verschiedene Sequenzen kombinierbarer Kanäle untersucht abhängig davon, wie der Kunde die Kommunikation über die verschiedenen Kanäle zu den Allgemeinmedizinern gestaltete. So konnte beispielsweise ermittelt werden, welchen Wertbeitrag ein Fachkongress mit vorab stattfindenden und nachfolgenden Kundenkommunikationsmaßnahmen im Vergleich zu einem Kongress ohne durchgeführte Begleitkommunikation liefert.

Neben dem Einfluss eines Kanals auf das Verschreibungsverhalten wurde auch klar, wie sich die Kommunikation über die Kanäle auf die Einstellung der Allgemeinmedizin zum Produkt auswirkt. Hierfür wurden Daten zu den Kanalfrequenzen der Zielgruppe mit der Einstufung der Allgemeinmediziner auf einer internen Adoption Ladder durch die verantwortlichen Außendienstmitarbeiter zusammengeführt. Als Ergebnis aus diesem Schritt wurde dem Kunden eine klare Aussage geboten, welcher Kommunikationskanal die Wahrscheinlichkeit erhöht, dass ein Allgemeinmediziner seinen Kollegen ein Produkt weiterempfiehlt.

Die Visualisierung der Projektergebnisse für unseren Kunden erfolgte in einem digitalen Dashboard, welches sowohl die Effekte eines Kanals auf das Verschreibungsverhalten der Allgemeinmediziner als auch auf deren qualitative Einstellung zum Produkt und dessen Weiterempfehlung darlegt. So kann der Kunde beide Effekte in Kombination bei der zukünftigen Priorisierung von Kanälen berücksichtigen. Zusätzlich erfolgte die Visualisierung aller Projektergebnisse in einem gängigen Visualisierungstool, um dem Kunden weitere Analysen über das Projektmandat hinaus zu ermöglichen. Im Zuge dieses Schrittes wurde die Schnittstelle individuell an die Präferenzen und verfügbaren Systeme unseres Kunden angepasst und die Kompatibilität mit etablierten Tools wie Tableau oder PowerBI sichergestellt.

Marketing Channel Impact: mehr erfahren? Nichts leichter als das!

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Leistungen im Bereich der Erfolgsmessung von Marketingkanälen erfahren oder ähnliche Ansatzpunkte für Ihr Unternehmen besprechen möchten, können Sie über das Kontaktformular in wenigen Sekunden eine Anfrage hinterlassen. Unser Partner Christian Zuberer meldet sich daraufhin persönlich bei Ihnen. Alternativ können Sie auch gerne direkt eine E-Mail senden oder anrufen!

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Ich stimme den Datenschutzbestimmungen zu. *

* Pflichteingabe

Porträtbild unseres Partners Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212