Wort "Pharma" umgeben von Symbolen - Herz, Tabletten, Arzt, Ergebnisbogen, Spritze
Growth & Competitive Strategy

Develop sustainable growth or maintain market position.

A lot of companies have growth targets, but no clear way to achieve them. We will help you to find the best way to profitable growth. In addition, we can support you in identifying, evaluating and designing strategies to pursue the most attractive growth opportunities at the portfolio, region or product level. We also offer support in the development of effective competitive strategies in the event of significant changes in the competition.

For example, market positions achieved by innovative drugs are at risk, especially from the first day after patent expiration, with double-digit declines in sales already threatening in the first year after the launch of a competitor product. Hence it is even more critical to have a sustainable strategy for this situation at an early stage and not to leave newly emerging market constellations to chance.

Homburg & Partner has already accompanied many pharmaceutical companies during one of the most challenging phases in the product life cycle of an innovative drug and knows the typical factors that are essential to successfully traverse the period of a pending patent loss. With the help of our Strategic Defense Framework and based on our proven methodology, we compile solutions to the most important questions and develop the right strategy for your product together with you.

Baseline for this is the calculation of the explicit financial risk (sales at risk) that results from price erosion or loss of market share using our Competitive Threat Index. This index takes both internal and external indication-specific and country-specific drivers of this risk into account. Based on an anticipation of potential competitor actions, we can then evaluate a variety of strategic defense options and derive stakeholder-specific tactics. A dedicated and target-group specific action plan including clear responsibilities and timelines can optimally support in the operational implementation of your defense strategy as well as the successful defense of the market position of your innovative drug after patent loss.

Our Growth Strategy Framework identifies potential for growth and

provides reliable recommendations for action:

Growth Strategy Consulting Framework

Our Strategic Defense Framework helps to develop optimal defense strategies after patent expiry:

Strategic Defense Consulting Framework

Our service portfolio in the area of Growth & Competitive Strategy:

  • Portfolio growth opportunity identification
  • Product growth opportunity identification
  • Competitive strategy and response strategy
  • Patent expiry/Loss-of-Exclusivity strategy
  • Biosimilar and generic growth & defense strategy

Our experts for the pharmaceutical sector

Porträtbild unseres Partners Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Porträtbild von Michael Scholl
Managing Director & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0

Wort "Pharma" umgeben von Symbolen - Herz, Tabletten, Arzt, Ergebnisbogen, Spritze
Growth & Competitive Strategy

Nachhaltiges Wachstum erschließen oder Marktposition halten.

Viele Unternehmen haben Wachstumsziele, aber keinen klaren Weg, um diese zu erreichen. Wir helfen Ihnen, den besten Weg zu profitablem Wachstum zu finden. Dazu unterstützen wir Sie bei der Identifizierung, Bewertung und Gestaltung von Strategien zur Verfolgung der attraktivsten Wachstumschancen auf Portfolio-, Region- oder Produkt-Ebene. Ebenso helfen wir bei der Entwicklung schlagkräftiger Wettbewerbsstrategien bei signifikanten Wettbewerbsveränderungen.

So sind erreichte Marktpositionen von innovativen Präparaten insbesondere ab dem ersten Tag nach Patentauslauf gefährdet, wobei Umsatzrückgänge im zweistelligen Prozentbereich bereits im ersten Jahr nach Launch eines Wettbewerberproduktes drohen. Umso wichtiger ist es, für diese Situation frühzeitig eine nachhaltige Strategie zu haben und neu entstehende Marktkonstellationen nicht dem Zufall zu überlassen.

Homburg & Partner hat bereits viele Pharmaunternehmen während einer der herausforderndsten Phasen im Produktlebenszyklus eines innovativen Arzneimittels begleitet und kennt die typischen Erfolgsfaktoren, um die Zeit eines anstehenden Patentverlustes erfolgreich zu bewältigen. Mit Hilfe unseres Strategic Defense Frameworks erarbeiten wir nach bewährter Methodik die Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen und entwickeln gemeinsam mit Ihnen die richtige Strategie für Ihr Produkt.

Ausgangslage hierfür ist die Kalkulation des expliziten finanziellen Risikos (Sales at Risk) infolge von Preiserosionen oder Marktanteilsverlusten anhand unseres Competitive Threat Index, welcher sowohl interne als auch externe indikations- und landesspezifische Treiber dieses Risikos berücksichtigt. Basierend auf einer Antizipation potenzieller Wettbewerberaktionen können wir anschließend eine Vielzahl an strategischen Abwehroptionen evaluieren und stakeholder-spezifische Taktiken ableiten. Ein dedizierter und zielgruppenspezifischer Aktionsplan inklusive klarer Verantwortlichkeiten und Zeitleisten unterstützt Sie optimal in der operativen Umsetzung Ihrer Defense Strategie und der erfolgreichen Verteidigung der Marktposition Ihres innovativen Arzneimittels nach Patentverlust.

Unser Growth Strategy Framework identifiziert Wachstumspotenziale und

liefert belastbare Handlungsempfehlungen:

Growth Strategy Framework von Homburg & Partner mit drei Kernelementen

Unser Strategic Defense Framework hilft bei der Entwicklung optimaler Abwehrstrategien nach Patentauslauf:

Growth und Strategie Defense Framework von Homburg & Partner mit drei Teilschritten

Unser Leistungsportfolio im Bereich Growth & Competitive Strategy:

  • Portfolio Growth Opportunity Identification
  • Product Growth Opportunity Identification
  • Competitive Strategy and Response Strategy
  • Patent Expiry/Loss-of-Exclusivity Strategy
  • Biosimilar und Generic Growth & Defense Strategy

Unsere Experten für die Pharmabranche

Porträtbild unseres Partners Christian Zuberer
Partner

Christian Zuberer

christian.zuberer@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-212

Porträtbild von Michael Scholl
Geschäftsführer & Partner

Dr. Michael Scholl

michael.scholl@homburg-partner.com
Tel.: +49 621 1582-0